Picture Perfect

I first realized the power of a picture in 2002 while trekking through Greece I came across a elderly woman selling various items from a kiosk in a small village.  I didn’t speak Greek and she didn’t speak English but by pointing at my camera and with a nod of her head she allowed me to take a picture.  I remember that she stepped outside of her kiosk and she straightened her jacket so it was just right.   She was dressed conservatively, very neat, and in neutral tones.  She gave a slight smile just as I took the picture.  Little did I know this woman of whom I didn’t speak one word to changed the way I viewed photography forever.  This picture was not taken with a sophisticated camera but a simple point and shoot that is long gone now.   I have the prints from this trip and I plan to scan and upload them soon.

Leave a Reply

